Some people think history has little or nothing to offer; while others say the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Write on both views and give your opinion, citing examples from your experience.

People are often divided into two groups, whenever the topic of studying history comes up. As, one the one hand, there are many who think that there is not much that history can offer us, whereas, on the contrary, others hold the opinion that the knowledge about the past can be beneficial in a better understanding of the current time. Personally, I am in the favour of the latter group, and in this essay, both the perspectives will be considered. Many people claim that it is a mere wastage of time to focus on past events, as those are long gone, and there is nothing that one can do to change them, whether it’s good or bad. So, according to them, it is logically unreasonable to study those scenarios that have already happened, such as, about the wars, the emperors and their kingdoms, and many more. Even the academic syllabus of most of the classes also includes history as a subject, so to get good marks, it is a must for the students to study it thoroughly. In fact, more focus should be laid on other things and subjects, for instance, science and technology; modern economics; medicines and research, by which the youth can help the world with better and improved facilities and help in shaping the future. Despite this, others, myself included, feel that history has a strong connection with the present. As one can take lessons and inspiration from the warriors, the personalities and the scientists from the past, who have accomplished great achievements in the past be it related to religion or science. Therefore, the knowledge about those is a must for the present generation as they can learn about leadership and courage, for instance, from warriors like Jhansi ki Rani and Guru Gobind Singh Ji and about science and other universal from the theories of Einstein, Newton, and others. Further, emphasizing on the research and theories developed in history, a number of modern developments would have been impossible without their knowledge, if the past was neglected. In conclusion, no doubt, a lot of people underestimate the importance of the past, considering it a time waste. But the importance and the link to the events of the past cannot be neglected so easily, as many of our present-day developments have taken strong inspiration and support from the research and studies done in the past.