Full-time university students should spend a lot of time studying, but it is essential to be involved in other activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The burgeoning number of students attending university has led some people to think twice about the goal of university courses. The question is whether students should be taught about the workplace or whether the teachings should be about a particular subject, not so much related to the work environment. As regards to the function of the University, I firmly believe that it should prepare one for their prospective job. However, at the same time I am of the opinion that knowledge about a particular subject should also be taught at degree level. For many people university courses are all about preparation for their future job. Of course it is important that people are prepared as much as possible before they start work. Some courses achieve this criteria, for example Business Management can be practiced in the real world. This can mean extremely beneficial for students, because later in their future job they can apply their classes manage their own business. As this example shows, a degree that prepares students for the workplace is more beneficial over a degree that exists solely for the purpose of knowledge. On the other hand, courses that aim to dig deeper into a specific subject are beneficial in their own way. Take for example Psychology, it is widely argued that this degree is pointless if not practised. However, this is not always true, psychology can be a very productive course, for instance the knowledge learned from the course can be used to help an individual strengthen their relationship with their colleagues.On top of this, it helps one to understand other peoples cultures and values. Thus, as this example shows every degree has its own benefits, each of which can be applied to our day to day life in its own way. My conclusion is that this is a well balanced issue, and that the purpose of undergraduate courses should be to both gain knowledge and prepare people for their future jobs.