Some people believe that it is wrong for professional athletes to compete in the Olympics because their strong financial backing and training give them an unfair advantage over the other athletes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

If we take a look at the current scenario in the domain of sports, it is to be noted that sports professionals earn huge salaries that may even range higher than any other respected profession. While there are people who support pro athletes taking part in the Olympics, others oppose asserting the fact that their participation might ruin the fair and square chances/ opportunities of the amateur athletes to showcase their abilities. However, in my opinion, it is unfair to exempt professional athletes from such grand events, regardless of their financial status or excellence in their profession. This essay/thesis will elucidate the above statements supported/ backed up with some valid examples. Professional athletes benefit over other athletes as they earn astronomical paychecks while enjoying the added privilege of being the masters in their field. Although to achieve this position, they have come across a long journey that includes rampant training and the number of losing or winning tournaments, it is often overlooked as the years pass by. Being meticulous and adept in their occupation is what counts them as professionals and for the matter, they are considered to be excellent players and can easily defeat amateurs, do not qualify as a reason to exclude their participation from the Olympics. In fact, them being the active participants in the game leads to increased motivation and triggers the competitive spirits of the other. It can be However, many contemplate that authorities should extend their support to the amateurs who are trying out their luck in the road of achieving the expertise which is indeed possible by abiding by the rule of amateurism in the Olympics. For say, if 10 out of 10 athletes in the Olympics are amateur then the chances of winning the game are more, otherwise, it would simply end up being an unfair one-sided game of professional vs. Amateur. As a result of such competitive holdings, athletes learn to play as a team and become united to win for their country disregarding the fact of being paid or not. Furthermore, the nation wants young talents to move the baton of sports competitions. Hence, considering the above explanation, I conclude, that despite all the privileges (fame, high salary, highly trained), skillful athletes should not be redundant to the Olympics and their participation should be considered affirmative because winning a competition might teach them to be more confident while at the same time losing the game teaches the person to be composed.