The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

In the last decade, the obesity problem in youngsters has increased by approximately 20% in western countries. This is happening because of the excessive use of the technology and the over consumption of the fast food. Technology has made everybody's life very easy but, children are using it on a higher level. Earlier, the young generation used to play outdoor games and now, they want to spend their maximum time in front of computers and video games. Due to this, their physical activity level is decreasing drastically, and they are gaining weight. Additionally, the easy availability of junk meal is one of the main reasons of overweight. Children are developing their taste in fast foods and this is the reason they don't like healthy and homemade meal. Overweight is the reason for various chronic diseases such as, high blood pressure, diabetes, and cancer. The young generation is also becoming lazy so, they don't perform very well in their studies too. For example, according to a study, 60% of the diseases, increasing in the children is due to the excessive weight. For the prevention, parents should take their responsibilities and encourage their children to take part in sports and also, should spend more time with them like, to go for tracking and play outdoor games. Moreover, the government could pose extra tax on the junk cuisine industries and give more financial support to healthy cuisine chains, for instance, could come up with subsidy plans for salad bars or nutritious foodstuff corners. In conclusion, the onus is on both government and parents to find out the solution to this problem otherwise, the obesity ratio will keep on increasing day by day.