Many people believe that it is important to always tell the truth. In your opinion, is it ever acceptable to tell a lie? Explain your answer giving reasons and specific examples.

Nowadays the concept of truth is controversial and the world is overwhelmed with fake news, bias and propaganda. Still, when it comes to interpersonal communication, sincerity will always be valued and it is the reason why people should avoid lying. To start with, even a white lie can have a drastic impact on relationships. Once you lie, you will find it challenging to start from scratch and win trust back. To illustrate, some years ago a friend of mine told her boyfriend that she was out with me, but in fact she was with her male friends. What really freaked him out was not even the company itself, but the fact that she was lying. So, telling a lie for the sake of saving relationships can totally destroy them. What is more, sometimes people expect others to overreact in quite mediocre situations which do not require much attention. Being emotional, people find it rather complicated to make sound judgements and are afraid of being criticised whereas they could be helped. To give an example, once I was hiding school problem because I did not want my parents to worry. It came to me by surprise when it turned out that they knew the truth from day one and eventually stood up for me and handled it. All in all, hiding information is not always a way out. To sum up, people should not lie because even a small misunderstanding can destroy relationships. Correspondingly, one can always expect to obtain aid rather than criticism.