Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

The globalization has fostered the development of many large-scale companies across the globe. These multinational companies have invested a huge amount to endorse their goods and services on enormous platforms that have caught the eyes of the masses. Besides, these products come with certain issues and so there is a need to take collaborative measures that can convince people to purchase local goods. On the one hand, the continuous hammering of such lavish products have modified the mindset of many local communities which causes them to unnecessarily purchase of some products out of nowhere. The goods are manifested as a convenience for daily life to their targeted audience through many promotional campaigns, hence even marginal people end up buying it, resulting in debt as well as prodigal spending. For instance, many mobile manufacturing companies are advertising their mobile phones with not only better-quality features but also with monthly repayment schemes, compelling the customers to purchase new models every year under such schemes, leaving them with a huge amount of loans to repay. Another problem that needs to be considered is that many products can be detrimental to human beings. There are certain categories of food items such as ready -to- eat, ready- to -cook, and package meal which contains a high amount of added preservatives which are sources of fatal diseases. To illustrate, many food processing companies use mass media, namely television advertisements and social media platforms to target the young working population who buy them from nearby supermarkets and malls and many researchers have proved that the consumption of such food is the cause of stomach cancer, diabetes, and even obesity. However, these problems can be resolved with the collaborative efforts of the authority and mass media to create awareness of local produce. On the other hand, the government should allocate funds to leverage their people to buy local products. There should be monthly and weekly exhibitions, with the telecast support of mass media, where people can be educated about the benefits of consuming locally manufactured products. To illustrate, many countries nowadays are encouraging people to buy local organic food. Many campaigns are run by local cooperatives to promote their goods not only on local cable channels, but also through social media and print media. Hence, nowadays, people are becoming more conscious of the money they spend on commercial goods. One immediate practical solution is that the ministry should confine the advertisement and promotion of products sold by multinational companies for a certain period. This can reduce the impact of the products on common people and they can look out for other sources. For example, many countries such as India and China encourage their citizens to use local produce which is good in quality and markdown prices compared to international brands in addition to the continuous broadcasted support from the news channels. In summary, although multinational companies can attract people due to their huge amount of investment in marketing and promotion on larger marketing platforms, this has resulted in a negative impact on society as well. However, by limiting such promotion by the government and even mass media can bolster consumption of local goods.