Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

All around the world, there are those who suggest that schools should choose pupils based on their academic abilities. Although others believe it would be better to have students with different levels studying together, I recommend a collaboration of both types of admission criteria. To start with, admitting learners on their academic performance would promote a better environment for the more academic cohort to improve. These good students would compete with each other or in other words, placing students with the same level together would provide a competitive environment, thereby stimulating them to work harder. However, students with weaker academic abilities would not have the chance to be exposed to such environments, thereby aggravating their poor performance. On the other hand, having students with different academic abilities study together would ease this problem. To be specific, academically better learners would support others to achieve good grades. Moreover, pupils who are not academically outstanding could be talented in some other fields like Art or Music. For instance, by mutual support, a student who excels at Maths but not Art can help another who is good at Art but performs badly in Maths and otherwise. Therefore, I believe schools should strike a balance between both types of student distribution in order to perform better. For example, having one or two classes with top students studying together while the others are mixed would be a better choice. In conclusion, while having students with equivalent academic abilities would provide a better environment for the good to compete, placing pupils with different academic abilities could give rise to student's mutual support. In my opinion, both types of allocating students should be applied for the school's better overall development.