Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, the colossal upsurge in discussions relating to the choice of higher institution subjects is quite alarming. While some school of thought agrees that learners of these schools should independently decide the courses they would take, others are of a contrary opinion. Personally, I believe that all university students should be given the free will to decide their best courses due to the individual and economic benefits attached to it. To begin with, if learners are released to make their preferred choice in terms of what to study, they would become fulfilled graduates in life. Passion is a driving force that motivates a lot of students when it comes to academics and many of these students perform excellently because they are studying the things that are particularly interesting to them which helps them to pass out with good grades. For example, a research conducted by a Physical Education lecturer at the University of Ibadan revealed that about 80% of the successful respondents in the department were able to achieve high grades because they went for their most cherished course. Allied to this, passionate students after graduation do well in their respective fields by securing well paying jobs thereby, leading among their colleagues. Another point to consider is the national impact of having fulfilled graduates. Aside from the fact that there would be highly skilled and talented youths taking over the job markets, these graduates would also be able to provide employment for many unemployed citizens as a result of their keen interest in their career path. For instance, Ibraheem Chatta who graduated as an art student from the University of Ilorin once said that, his reason for establishing a theatre school that now employs over Seventy staffs, is hinged on the fact that he was able to study his beloved career in the institution. Furthermore, countries with a high employment rate can significantly benefit from its citizens through the payment of taxes towards generating revenue for further developmental activities. Overall, interactions relating to choice of course in the university have become incredibly common. Although some people think it is not ideal, whereas, others think otherwise. I still remain of the firm opinion that it personal and economic benefits have greater impact.