Many local languages today are dying out due to the rise of languages like English. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a lot of languages are disappearing around the world due to the popularity of other languages such as English. In my opinion, this is a positive development due to the benefits it brings to people and countries. Due to globalization and the Internet, some languages such as English are growing in popularity and it is advantageous to people. The most severe problem that people face when they migrate to other countries is the language barrier. This means that they cannot socialize with others, ask for information, or even find a job because they do not speak the same language as the host country. For instance, in some countries such as Germany, foreigners cannot find a job opportunity even if they are fully qualified if they do not speak German. However, if more people spoke the same language, then they would not have to face such problems. They would easily integrate into other societies because they share the same language and, therefore, it reduces the effort and time taken to learn a new language. Another benefit of having fewer local languages is the booming of tourism and trade, which positively impacts any country’s economy. When more countries speak the same language, they will be able to communicate with each other easily and, consequently, trade will flourish between them. Similarly, tourism will be encouraged as tourists would love to visit other nations that speak their native language and they would not feel like foreigners, which contributes to better economic growth. They would easily chat with local people, order food in restaurants, and read traffic signs. This can be exemplified by how easily American tourists go to Canada and blend with the locals with no problem. In conclusion, having fewer global languages nowadays can be seen as a positive development as it dissolves the communication barrier between nations and, thus, positively impacts people and economies.