Nowadays people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Firstly, I do think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages and I will gladly explain. Starting with the fact that social media saved us so much time, money and effort you may ask how for example when I said time let's say you are a student in the UK but your family lives in KSA and you want to check on them every day back in 1995 going to a public phone stand was your only way that means every day you would need to go to a public call centre just to have one call with you family, friends and even your kids. But nowadays, you do not need to go through all this trouble just to have one phone call on social media you can have as many as you like without stepping out of your house. Secondly, how does social media affect positively saving your money, well I have a lot of examples such as your childhood friend is studying in the USA and can not come back until he gets his degree before social media we would have been buying plane tickets for only a short visit but now we do not need to do all that with social media we can call them, text them and even share photos with them every day at every time. Lastly, there are disadvantages and we should be aware of them such as hackers, online bullying and so much more hence, the small number of disadvantages social media is a great way to stay in touch with others and be aware of the news more easily than before.