Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that zoos should not keep them in captivity, whereas others think that there are advantages to retain them in the zoos. Although zoos are a tourist attraction in many countries and need wild animals to attract visitors, I believe that there are downsides to keep them in zoos. To begin with, there are several reasons for keeping wild creatures in zoos. They attract tourism and earn money for the country. Visitors get a chance to see the endangered and rare species, such as Indian tiger. If zoos does not care for these animals, they often die either from contagious diseases or starvation. Furthermore, zoos can also provide the educational importance to our younger visitors about the extinct animals and learn about them in depth. To illustrate this, in India, many schools organize the field trip for the students to nearby zoos so that they can explore our native species. As a result, many youngsters are now capable to comprehend the reasons behind the lost species. In contrast, there are drawbacks to keep the wild animals in cages. They would die since they are not kept in the natural habitat and often it it is it's considered as a cruel activity. We frequently see the news stories about the rare animals dying in zoos or getting sick because the area is not big enough for them to thrive. For example, it was recently stated in the news about the some of female lions fell sick and eventually died and it was reported that they were feeling lonely as they were missing their counterparts. Consequently, growth of the animal population seems difficult when in captivity. In conclusion, both views put forward valid points, however, I strongly believe that zoos are no place for wild animals. If animals need to be cared for, they should be looked after in their natural settings in game parks or wildlife reserves. Government should take the steps to preserve these animals and should close down zoos that profit from them.