It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is commonly believed by certain individuals that artistic talent is a trait possessed by children inherently and it cannot be learned, others argue that any person is capable of learning a particular skill in sports or art. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I believe that any skill can be mastered with enough dedication. On one side, people argue that talent is a quality that is gifted inherent and cannot be acquired. This is because, an exceeding number of child prodigies have surfaced mainstream media over the recent years, creating a perception that practicing a skill would never be as good as a gifted talent. Certain children are viewed to be doing better than others because of the reasons other than their enthusiasm and perseverance. For example, Lionel Messi is perceived to possess more natural born skills than acquired ones since he has been able to do extraordinary things in the world of football from a very nascent age. Thus, because of the scale of the achievement in a very short amount of time put forth by these young children, many people opine that they could have been born with their dexterity. On the other hand, others believe that any talent is learnable because while there have been people who seem to have had accomplished gigantic feats since early childhood, there have been certain young students, such as Beethoven, who have left their marks on the history of the mankind. Owing to their love for the art or a particular sport, they have been able to put themselves on the extremes. This, in turn, has allowed them to create mesmerizing pieces of art or game-plays. To illustrate, Christiano Ronaldo, who is seen as a product of hard work, has scored more goals in total than Lionel Messi. Hence, passion and hard work are the traits that help achieve a similar level of performances. To conclude, although some people think that talents can never be acquired by children since the are inherent, others, including myself, strongly argue that an equal amount of accomplishments can be achieved with hard work and love for the work if not more.