Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the happiest moments in people ’s lives are the teenage years, while others suggest that in spite of greater responsibilities, adult life is happier. Although, adult life is happier in terms of freedom, I believe the care-free attitude during the teenage days makes it more joyful. During adulting, people enjoy more freedom, which correlates to happiness. People are not governed by their parents anymore during this time, and legally they are also allowed to do a lot of things, which were not allowed during their childhood. They become independent, work, and lead their own lives at their own pace, thereby providing a sense of fulfilment, leading to happiness. For example, after turning eighteen, most people across many countries leave their parents and decide to live independently. This gives the people a sense of accomplishment, creating joy in their lives. However, I believe the joy of adult life is short-term and is not for ever. On the contrary, teenager’s care-free way of living, indeed, creates true happiness, and such a feeling is not felt by people ever again. During the teenage years, generally, people have more friends, which fosters socializing and strong bonds between them. Because the world is small for teenagers, they are protected from the dark-side of the world. As a result, almost every moment of their lives is one small burst of happiness. For instance, a study conducted on a group of people over 50 years from the age of 15 till they turned 65 by the University of Cambridge showed that around 90 per cent of these people were happier till 18 years age compared to the later years. Therefore, I believe that it is at this stage of life, one experiences true happiness. In conclusion, teenage days are happier because people spend more time with their friends and make memories that lasts forever. While during the adult life, the joy of receiving freedom and independence is short-lived.