Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make. Has this become a positive or negative development?

Technology has substantially altered the manner in which humans interact with each other. It has provided unprecedented convenience in relationship building and strengthening exercises. In my opinion, it is a positive development because the world has become more global and inclusive than ever before. With the advent of communication technology, which is a subset of the technological revolution, the communication has become easier and more convenient. This is because mobile phones and video-chatting services have brought the former distant relatives just a click away. As compared with two decades ago, it is now significantly easier to contact family members. For example, immigrants settling abroad have tools such as Whatsapp and Zoom at their disposal when they need an emotional help. Thus, the impact of technology on people's interactions is hard to be neglected. This is a positive development because it has propelled an inclusive environment despite the diversity. The world has now become smaller since people from different countries can interact seamlessly, allowing them to understand different perspectives. So, this has reduced racism and boosted empathetic behaviour. To illustrate, hostility towards the African-American community is now censured across many different social media platforms countering racist views in an effective manner. Therefore, advancements in communication technology are indeed positive in nature. In conclusion, changes made by the technological achievements on human interaction are difficult to be ignored these days. Even though organic face to face talks are increasingly being replaced by video calls or social media posts, it is a change for the betterment of the society due to increased empathy and inclusion towards different ethnic groups.