In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

House ownership has become significantly important for people in certain countries. This behavioural trend is found to be more common with the younger working population in most places. In this essay, I would like to outline whether such emerging trend is healthy or damaging to one ’s life. Owning a house is one of the most significant milestones for a working adult given the amount of investment it entails. Easy availability of housing loans has made it possible for the younger generation to buy a house at a very early age. However, this comes at the expense of long and arduous working hours coupled with minimal social life. Despite this, most people continue to work hard for their dream home. There are two main reasons for such behaviour in most countries. First and foremost, house ownership is considered as one of the key social status symbol. Secondly, owning a house provides a sense of security, safety and belonging. The individual is not dependent on his or her landlord. Further, investment in real estate is still considered to be one of the best savings options as compared to paying rent monthly, which is an expense item. On the contrary, there is still a large section of the population primarily staying in expensive cities like London, New York, Hong Kong etc. Who cannot afford to own a house and hence continue to rent one. Further, people prefer to rent out over owning a house when house valuation is unrealistically high. In addition, people staying for a temporary or short period of time would always rent a house. To conclude, I don’t think owning a house leads to a negative situation provided the individual does a thorough assessment of his requirement and financial condition. He should be able to afford owning a house and this should not result in any undue financial burden on him.