It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

It is advised that some time of unpaid work should be undertaken by all the youth in order to help people in society. This essay will argue that the upside of being served better outweighs any drawbacks for the community, while the downside of ending up in debts outweighs any benefits for the youth. The principal advantage for the community is that they can get served better. That is to say that people are not receiving the welfare schemes given by the government due to the lack of government workers, and this can be overcome by utilising the youth to help people them effectively. For instance, a recent article published in a renowned newspaper in India stated that the people who enjoyed the benefits given by the government had increased by 28% in the year 2018 after they started a mandatory 100 days of social service activity for all the graduates in its country. The major disadvantage for the youth is that they end up in debts. In other words, young people earn money by doing paid work. So, if they are involved in unpaid work, they will find it difficult to earn money. The result of this is it will become difficult to look after their families and finally end up in debts. For example, a recent comprehensive government survey in Canada found that more than 50% of the youth in its country should go to work every day to earn money necessary to look after their parents. In conclusion, unpaid service to the community has more benefits for the community as they could be served better, and has more drawbacks for the people as they may end up in debts.