Every country needs to remember its past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

All countries have a past and therefore, all of them should never forget about it. The world is made of History. Having knowledge and memory about everything that occur, in the past, in our own country surely has various advantages. One clear example is the World War II genocide of the European Jews. The Holocaust had and still has an enormous impact in our world. Early this year, I visited one of the most famous concentration camps in Poland, Auschwitz. I can firmly say that this trip taught me a lot of life lessons. I strongly believe that if Germany didn’t know about what was made by its own people in the past, people nowadays wouldn’t be able to learn about it and reflect on it. I am sure that teaching this kind of important and historical events can help to cultivate not only empathy but also sensitivity. In addition to this advantage, I am also convinced that knowing about the past, helps the country with its economy. In my view, one of the parts of every country ’s economy is the tourism. For example, by remembering the past, the country can show its monuments and teach its history to foreign tourists as well as to national tourists, which creates an enormous amount of new jobs for its own population. Personally, I think every country remembering its own past doesn’t have any disadvantages. To sum up, I am certain that those countries which doesn’t remember its past are doomed to repeat their mistakes and can’t benefit from it to their own economy.