Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

There are widely different views on the issue of whether smoking tobacco and cigarettes should be banned in society or not. Some people would contend that it is their right to smoke and prohibiting cigarettes would be against their human rights. I personally would argue that tobacco should indeed be forbidden.There are two primary reasons for this. First of all, I believe it is an absolutely pivotal fact that tobacco is a drug, and the majority of governments around the world are trying to overcome substance abuse. If they want to achieve their goals, they should consider that tobacco must be banned as well. Moreover, some drugs such as Marijuana and Heroin have legitimate medical usage, while tobacco has nothing. Further and more importantly, though, it is in the interest of society that the mentioned substance becomes an illicit drug due to the extreme cost it brings to governments and insurance companies. Nevertheless, it should be considered that cigarettes lead to lung cancer and heart disease. Hence, I would suggest that the rights of the community in large amounts must override those of individuals. After that, countries should create some rules for those who are addicted to tobacco products. For instance, make some places for them to consume it and observe their behaviours to decrease any problems that might happen. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position which is in the near future it is unlikely that the widespread prohibition of smoking become low, although it should be considered as an ultimate goal.