In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

It is noted that in today’s fast-paced society, the global population grows at an exponential rate. Therefore, jobs are created, catering to the demands of these booming numbers. In fact, other than civilians the living and working in the big metropolis, numerous citizens residing in the desolated areas are moving towards the city to work in industries. Though it can be advantages for them as they secure a career in these enterprises, detrimental effects follow as overcrowding of space and retrenchment during difficult times can affect their lives. Certainly, people living in rural areas move into the capital in hopes of searching for careers. Many travel out of their community to earn for a living as well as to support their family inhabiting at home. To exemplify, in Indonesia, there are several villages and farms located in these places where city-goers seldom visit. To earn a living, villagers painstakingly plant crops before yielding the harvest, which is sold in the downtown markets. However, being farmers barely earn much and worse, some suffer losses as the production costs are usually more than the quantity of goods sold from their produce. Thus, many citizens from rural parts move into the town area to look for higher-profile professions. Yet, such actions result in consequences that harshly impacts on the job-seekers from the villages. Undeniably, the modernised areas will face overcrowding issues, leading to an increase in crime rates. For example, in Thailand, the country faces problems with the transport system. Due to the already populated urban areas, with the addition of people from rural areas, trains are bound to be overcrowded and roads are becoming more congested. Moreover, since citizens in these densely populated areas are preoccupied with squeezing and pushing to get on the buses and trains to work, pickpockets lurk in these areas. Hence, it appears the rate of crime increases annually, proving that such problems exist because of the overpopulation in an area. Furthermore, having massive numbers of employees in the company can inevitably lead to a cut down of workers. For instance, during the recent Covid-19 pandemic, the unemployment rate rose to 41% in Singapore. Similarly, countries with more citizens will face higher rates of retrenchment, resulting in many who are jobless, looking for other means to support their family. Ultimately, residents shifting to the cities are henceforth affected, unable to afford the expensive household monthly bills. To sum up, it is revealed that residents moving to the towns can lead to negative impacts on the status of the nation from the aforementioned points. Officials in the country ought to come up with solutions to assist the job-seekers in provincial areas. By doing so, all can have a safe mind living in a country.