Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Brand Recall, Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Marketing not only plays a pivotal role in spreading awareness about new products, but also influencing our behaviour in a way that instigates us to make a purchase. Few people get swayed with such kind of promotions and ultimately lands up buying things that are not required by them. Similarly, for others, who thinks rationally and understand one’s requirement, an advertisement can be highly useful in finding the right merchandise for addressing their needs. Since I belong to the second category, I feel ads are the ideal way to know about the latest products which will make my life better and not miserable. It is very difficult for people to control their needs and wants. The former is the basic necessity of a person who governs their want for a product to satisfy it. Problems arise when there are frequent changes in needs and want which directly result in frequent purchases of unnecessary things. Advertisement exactly does that where they create requirements for their brands. For instance, In India, frequent launches and promotions have decreased the life-cycle of mobile phones from 3 years to 1 year. On the other hand, advertisements help people identifying the right brand for addressing their needs and enhancing their lives. There are numerous companies with a plethora of products available at various price points. Unless people are aware of this they will never be able to find the right match. For instance, an environment-friendly customer will never buy a petrol-driven car; electric vehicles will be an ideal match. Tesla ads are targeted to such an audience where they mention all the necessary details which will facilitate a win-win situation for both of them. To conclude, the advantages and disadvantages of the advertisements are highly person-specific. Some get lured with them and land up making avoidable purchases, whereas others use it judiciously in finding a solution for improving their lives. As mentioned above, I strongly feel that it plays a larger role in making customers' lives better and not miserable.