The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

Every year government spends a significant amount of their budget into restoring ancient and historical monuments which are their identity and thus, needed to be protected. In contrary of that, many people suffer from hardships day to day because lack of proper infrastructure which are being ignored or given lower priority. Although, being immensely valuable these structures take away tax payers money considerably.But they bring tourist attraction which in fact boosts the economy and creates jobs for the tourism sector.They are the national pride and not looking after these prestigious monuments will lead to a irreparable loss.They are many challenges that these structures are facing like natural calamities, climate change and threat from foreign invasion. Thus, they rightly deserved to be preserved and protected. However, they are also social concerns which are related to the monuments which are being ignored by the government. For example, a third world country like India, which faces innumerable issues which are related to the poor infrastructure and are disproportionately causing lots of loss for its citizens like increase in traffic, lack of transportation services between cities and villages and many more these factors are costs dearly for the economy of the country. In my view, all of them are equally important and has high priority.But things can be changed with good governance.People need to have a good transportation system in order to survive and one not being available is dampening the country's growth.The funds needed to be divided on the basis of the priorities and needs of the people.