People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still don’t take responsibility to protect the environment. Why is this? What should be done to encourage people to protect the environment?

Despite the fact that the majority of people informed about the importance of the environment, a minority of them care about its preservation and maintenance. This essay will examine the potential rationales of such a tendency and propose some suggestions to encourage and motivate more and more individuals to conserve the only pale blue dot, Earth. On the other hand, there are a number of factors that people, wanting or unwanting, participate less and less in the protection of their environment. There is no doubt that private vehicles have made human life much convenient and time-saving by way of illustration. So, people strive harder and work more to gain the opportunity to own a car. However, there is nothing more widespread than the news on the fossil-fuel-consumer vehicles' detrimental influences as the main culprit behind global warming, concluding the emission and radiation of a huge volume of greenhouse gases and exhaust fumes. Furthermore, nowadays, societies alter communities with materialism and consumerism attitudes. It means most of the people tend to purchase stuff that even do not need, or throw the old goods away instead of any possible renovation concerning to mass-production. In contrast, thanks to initial human awareness, some procedures and measures can be undertaken to make them more conscious and better environmental maintainers. First of all, government and authority should dedicate more budget to effective education systems and media to increase people's consideration of the fact that today's overpopulation, and over-consuming will directly affect the future generation's life-quality and welfare, as a result of land shortage and resource depletion. Besides, more practical rules for single-occupied vehicle ownership and stricter regulations and restriction on controlling traffic and its deteriorated consequences should be enacted. Last but not least, more and more investigations and expenditures should be spent on renewable energy; thus, it would become the dominant source of energy. To conclude, although most people are acquainted with the vital role of the environment in human lives, some reasons can be accounted for environmental protection ignorance. Fortunately, there are still some resolutions for rising human motivation, as mentioned above.