Air pollution is currently a big issue in most industrialized cities causing respiratory problems and changes in weather patterns. What do you think are the causes of this? What measures can be taken to reduce air pollution?

As the industrialization has grown over the years, the problem of air pollution has reached to the catastrophic level. Moreover, air pollution is commonly seen in most of the big cities which have caused severe health issues like respiratory problems, and major climate change. This essay will elaborate on the causes of this issue and would discuss appropriate measures required to overcome this problem. The primary reason responsible for the increase in air pollution is the increase in concentration of carbon content in the atmosphere. The carbon dioxide level in the environment has increased because of the over-usage of fossil fuels done by the ever growing industries and the general public. Furthermore, CO2 is classified as a greenhouse gas, which is responsible for trapping the heat and providing it to the earth. As a result, the temperature all around the world has increased and severe changes in weather patterns are visible. To counter this problem, the government can make certain laws which would limit the usage of fossil fuels and could increase the price of petrol to minimize the air pollution done by the private transportation. Another cause of air pollution is the decrease in the number of trees around the world. As the society has industrialized, more and more trees are cut down to make space for housing and various industries. The trees help in decreasing the level of air pollution as trees absorb carbon dioxide from the air, which is the main cause of air pollution. For instance, a study done by the Oxford University in 2015 showed that as the number of forests and vegetation in a particular are decreased, the severity of air pollution in that place increases. A possible solution to counter this issue is that a number of trees can be planted, and general awareness can be provided to the public regarding the benefits of forests. To conclude, air pollution is mainly caused due to the increase in the carbon content in the air, and the deforestation caused by the industries and individuals.