More and more companies are allowing employees to work from home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of technology, remote industry is gradually becoming the norm in many organizations, with workers being given the chance to carry out their duties from the comfort of their abode. This essay will discuss how this development might not be as beneficial as it seem, due to the possibility of distractions. Firstly, working from home allows for the relaxation of workers, which might be detrimental to the job. When people are in the convenience of their houses, they tend to forget about the urgency of some tasks, doing them at the pace they feel comfortable with. In addition, with residential areas come various forms of distractions, for example, someone living with their parents may be called at intervals to run errands, and as a result of this, an activity that should take no more than 15 minutes gets dragged over an hour period. This can consequently slow down the company's progress. Secondly, not everybody has the resources necessary to carry out certain industry-related functions in their homes. For example, when feeds from a client's CCTV has been directed to the security company's computers, it will be only possible to monitor such customer's surrounding from the office, rather than individual worker's home, because the latter is not fortified with the appropriate technology to carry out the industry. This is proof of how limiting remote industry can be, thus, my argument that it should not be normalized, as it is not advisable for all job types. In conclusion, although globalization is making a lot of things easier for people, official duties included, employees should not be made to depend on remote production, because it reduces productivity asides from being inapplicable in certain professions.