Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Children can be encouraged to be competitive or to cooperate with certain situations through their lives. But which one can have a healthy impact on their adulthood? I personally think that both, having a sense of competition and the knowledge on how to cooperate, have a beneficial impact in the children’s future lives. Firstly, a healthy competition can motivate the kids to be ambitious and to do better, since they always feel stimulated to do several activities. Secondly, knowing how to work or even play with other children can help the kids to learn from each other and to share belongings or knowledge between them. Thirdly, being competitive and cooperating is essential to know that sometimes people win and sometimes people lose. In contrast, competition can have a negative side, when kids don’t know how to cooperate. For example, kids who are extremely competitive can be selfish and can cheat. Looking back through all of my school years, I can firmly say that I always felt that most parents tend to put a lot of pressure on their own kids. Their children need to have the highest score in their exams, to the best in their class. Therefore, this can cause a lot of anxiety, sadness and low self-esteem, since young people usually don’t have the tools to know how to positively cope with their emotions. To sum up, having a healthy sense of competition can be useful in their adult lives as well as knowing about how to cooperate.