Many people are optimistic of the 21st century and see it as an opportunity to make positive changes to the world. To what extent do you share their optimism? What changes would you like to see in the new century?

There is no doubt that optimism towards the 21st century and its viability to enhance the nature is a great concern, especially with the background of rapidly developing technologies I think there are valid arguments for both, approving and diminishing this optimism. Firstly, the inevitable rise of global problems prevents making rapid improvements to the planet. As a result, it will take more than a century to make meaningful positive changes. For instance, the global warming causes a variety of other issues that society has to eliminate first. In addition, part of the humankind that holds most of the money is not interested in solving these problems, because it is a possible source of income that can be exploited. Take for example, building companies that may have to work twice due to earthquakes or floods. Lastly, making any changes requires time to see the results, especially speaking of the globe itself, that cannot be altered quickly by human means. On the other hand, the development of new technologies opens new opportunities to humankind, especially for bringing positive changes to the dust. A good example would be a water filtration system or environmentally friendly cars. As a predictable outcome, the environment would recover from damage caused by society over the last few decades. Furthermore, even the smallest action like planting a tree are already considered to be positive and have a significant effect on the planet. Lastly, these alterations should not be considered to be only in the field of environment. Thus, enhancing society or other sectors are also considered to be positively altered. Consequently, almost any beneficial deed is contributing to the planet and can be considered positive. However, positive changes in the environment and medicine are more appreciable. Overall, I believe that new century allows new positive alternations to take place, without any aberrations preventing improvements.