Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Language is a crucial factor that is conducive to communicate with each other. Nowadays, most schools are teaching English to the students rather than the local languages. As a result, those are on the verge of going obsolete. In my opinion, it is important to learn English, but not at the cost of ignoring one’s own language. The significant advantage of gaining prowess at English is that it is helpful to survive in any part of the world as it is the most spoken language. A majority of people know basic English which will be beneficial in surviving in a foreign land. Acquiring this skill will be useful to the students for educational purpose, to succeed in competitive exams. Clearly, learning English beneficial to everyone irrespective of the age group. In spite of the reasons mentioned above, it is indeed crucial to prevent the local languages from dying out as they represent one’s culture and tradition. Although English is popular and the most spoken language, it is not acceptable to ignore the importance of local languages. This is because they not only stand out, to be a representation of a state’s history and culture, but also, help as a bedrock to learn another language effortlessly. So, more students must be encouraged to learn such languages. This can be accomplished by creating communication clubs at school and including them in the curriculum so that learning those will be taken seriously. In addition to that, employment should be provided to the local people in their language which will aid in ensuring the survival of such languages. In short, students must be taught the local language at school to stop them from going obsolete. In conclusion, even though learning English help students to succeed in competitive exams and conducive to survive in a foreign country as it is the common language. I strongly believe that there must be a balance in learning between English and local languages which can be achieved by establishing communication clubs at schools that promote learning of the local language to ensure survival of those.