Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few people think that giving freedom to kids of making their own decision regarding choosing their own clothes, food habits, TV programme may make them a person who only thinks for themselves, while others oppose to the same and consider this as a necessary actions for their future. As per my opinion, a child should be allowed to take such decisions, but under the supervision of guardians. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints and opinion in detail and then will conclude the same. To begin with, every person ha right to choose what they like and so kids should be allowed to take such decisions too. This is also essential for developing decision making ability in their mind. For example, this may allowable to take the best decision for their career, which a parent may fail to do so, and thus, they may well succeed. Moreover, this also makes them less dependent on others as sooner or later they will develop a habit of taking best for themselves. On the contrary, when children have full liberty to make their own choice, they may fail to respect others. They may not consider other’s viewpoints seriously and develop a habit of doing what they like irrespective of its consequence on their lives. For instance, getting into the habit of playing games may make them lose interest in studies and this will spoil their future. Furthermore, sooner or later they will develop a selfish nature of just doing what they like and make them irresponsible towards their responsibilities. In conclusion, I believe that even though children should be allowed to take their own decisions, parents should teach them to respect others feelings, otherwise they may end up being selfish and may get into the wrong direction.