Many people think that more money will make them happier. How important is money for happiness?

It is the belief of many, that the more money they have access to, the happier they will be. This essay will discuss how the vital money is, to an elated state of being. Firstly, with financial stability comes power and freedom. This can be illustrated in a comparison between the attitudes of people that are employed and have a stable source of income, and people that are without a job. The former often exudes more joy, and are usually more confident than the latter. The first group's behaviour can be as a result of the knowledge that most of what they want, can be purchased. For example, when a rich person is sad, they can easily indulge in happy foods such as cakes and ice cream, which can help them out of their bad mood, such action will be quite difficult, almost impossible for a poor person. Also, studies have found a strong relationship between poverty and depression. People living in abject poverty have been discovered to fall into depression a lot easier than others existing in standard living conditions. For instance, developing countries have a higher number of depressed people than the developed ones. The inhabitants of these struggling nations often complain about the state of their country, and while a lot of financially indisposed citizens find themselves becoming bitter due to their inability to change their environment, reverse is usually the case for a wealthy person, as they can easily go for a vacation in an exotic island, or even migrate to a totally new area, in a bid to get their mind off the situation of their locality, instead of wallowing in hate and self pity like their disadvantaged counterparts. In conclusion, fiscal buoyancy is directly proportional to an individual's state of mind, and the higher the amount at your disposal, the more joyful you will be.