As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Nowadays, there is a tendency for people living in developing countries to purchase cars for their personal use. As a person owning a four wheeler has multiple benefits, although, it is harmful for the environment. In this essay I will list both facts in detail. To start with the merits, a car is a very convenient mode of transport for a family, or a business person who travels long distances. For a customised journey, car is the perfect vehicle, and the comfort that provides will not be enjoyed in public transports. For instance, drive on a forest area with my family in my car was more comfortable than the solo trip I went on a bus. Being an individual, possessing a car is always a good option. Secondly, rising number of private vehicles has resulted to air pollution, deforestation, excess consumption of nonrenewable natural resources like petrol and diesel. When each and every person of a family purchase own car, the number of vehicles in that society will go up and the level of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere will rise which is one of the reasons for global warming. For example, in cities like Mumbai the temperature and the pollution level are higher in the daytime because of the use of vehicles in working hours. The over usage of vehicles are harmful for the society, and it has to be controlled. To conclude, using personal vehicles has both positive and negative effects, however, people should try to use public transport whenever possible to save the environment.