Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays recreation, leisure, and sports activities play an important role in any societies. Therefore, private and public organizations contribute in promoting sports and social activities by providing infrastructure or by conducting games and public events. In this essay, I will discuss some arguments supporting my ideas about the positive effects of providing facilities to local societies by companies. A good reason why companies should indeed provide sports and social facilities for local communities is that following the concept of corporate social responsibility (CSR). CSR involves a company putting in funds and efforts to help improve the lives of the locals through various initiatives. These initiatives can include giving out merchandise, sponsoring free health checkups and even scholarships. Sports and social facilities are therefore part of CSR. The company effectively uses its resources to help the locals. Microsoft, for instance, is known to fund the drive against malaria in south Africa. Thus, it helps keep the locals out trouble while also gaining a reputation of being ‘humanitarian’ towards the underprivileged Another point to consider that sport and social facilities help engage the youth and keep them away from crime. Subsequently, lower crime rates contribute to the peace of the area and keep the companies’ interests safe as well. The united nations, for example, often laid emphasis on using sports as a means to bring about change in society. In conclusion, this essay examined some arguments about the positive impact of Investing in the local communities in terms of facilities and infrastructure which is beneficial for both the company and the locals.