Some people feel that it is wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Others feel that there are benefits for the animals and for the humans. Discuss both sides of this debate and give your personal view.

The topic of animals being kept captive has always been highly debated. Some feel that it is inhumane to keep them enclosed in spaces. However, others are of the opinion that the same could have many advantages for both animals and men. There are valid points for both sides that this essay will attempt to explain. On the one hand, people feel that locking animals up in cages takes away their freedom. Every living being deserves to be free to roam about in their natural environments, such as forests or the ocean. Besides, there are instances of humans torturing animals in captivity to favour their businesses. For example, some circus companies clip the claws of lions and tigers to ensure they do not threaten the safety of their audience. Even so, there is always a risk of wild animals, in zoos, for instance, turning aggressive and attacking the onlookers. These reasons lead people to think that such animals are best left in their natural habitats. On the other hand, preserving animals in sanctuaries would dramatically increase their chances of survival. Many of them suffer from natural calamities, like forest fires, and would benefit, if they are taken care of by man. Also, humans have the responsibility of protecting endangered species. One example would be the Bengal Tiger in the Indian subcontinent that was classified to be on the verge of extinction a few years back, following which the government took steps to ensure its protection and breeding so that its numbers do not decline further. Finally, zoos serve as places of entertainment that help boost the country’s tourism and economy. In conclusion, I would agree that it is indeed beneficial for both animals and humans for the farmer to stay in captivity. This is as long as those creatures are being taken care of and are not subjected to torture to appease humans.