Today parents spend little free time with their children. Why is it the case? Who are more affected: parents or children?

Parents and children need to spend quality time together. Unfortunately, these days, those taking up the role of parents seem to be preoccupied with other interests and spend far less time with their kids than people did in the past. This essay will explore why this is, and attempt to explain the effects of this phenomenon. To begin, modern-day parents and children have access to many novel forms of technology. It is very common to see families sitting in the same room, but not mentally or physically engaging with one another. This may be because of the amount of time both adults and young people are spending on devices such as smartphones and gaming consoles. Various manifestations of social media have shown to be quite addictive and, although in some cases can bring people closer, also seem to be driving them apart. Furthermore, people are having fewer children in general. This means that, overall, fewer adults are interacting with fewer children. Family sizes decrease as people become more focused on their career prospects rather than family prospects. Next, it is important to consider if children are more affected than the parents, or vice versa. An argument could be made that both segments of the population are equally affected but over different time frames. It could be argued that in the short-term, children will be more adversely affected as they require guidance and supervision from infancy to around 18 years of age. Without proper mentoring, young children and teenagers risk falling into a life of drug abuse and crime. Parents may also experience hardships as a result of a lack of time spent with their offspring. Middle-aged adults, men especially, tend to have mid-life crises once they realize that they have not lived a life that is following their family and career circumstances. In conclusion, parents and children need each other. Children need guidance, and parents have parental instincts to fulfil. Failing to achieve that would result in negative consequences to both sides. Perhaps in the future, schools will offer courses in which both parents and children can learn the value of having a strong family bonding.