increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems To what extent do u agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is an opinion that raising the cost of fuel is an efficient method to combat the deterioration of the environment, and the overcrowding of vehicles on the road. I agree with this viewpoint, since higher petrol prices are likely to discourage people from using private transport, thus, reducing the number of vehicles on the road. As a result, air pollution can be expected to reach a minimum. Additionally, this phenomena would lead to a well-connected public transit system. The rise of oil prices would lead many to minimize the usage of private transport, due to less affordability. Consequently, the number of vehicles on the road would decrease, as more people opt for public transportation. Thus, air pollution, caused previously, would, furthermore, decrease. For example, an individual is more likely to ride a bus for $2, to reach his destination, rather than spending $12 just for fuel. Few other effective measures would be to increase prices of maintenance and cost of vehicles. Moreover, availability of the license should be limited to the common public. For example, an average person is more likely to benefit from the cheap and efficient public transportation system, rather than going through the hassle of receiving a license, and filling huge expenditure costs to purchase and maintain the vehicle, hence, increasing their probability to opt for public transit system. To sum up, increasing kerosene prices is a brilliant way to deal with issues, such as traffic and air pollution. In my view, it is extremely beneficial in protecting our environment, alongside reducing global warming.