Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages.

The onset of the industrial revolution has reduced the emphasis on free time activities among working-class people. The last decade has seen a substantial increase in the working hours across the globe. This essay elicits the pros and cons of putting in long hours at work and presents my stand that equal importance should be given to leisure activities. On the one hand, some people believe that additional hours at work would propel their careers and manage uncertainties efficiently. Additionally, individuals believe that productivity is directly proportional to the number of hours spent at the office. This is because many corporate has implemented a performance appraisal system that evaluates an individual's merit based on the invested hours. For example, in Japan, the 1950 boom in the industrial sector has motivated its citizens to spend long hours at work and accentuated the country as a leading global economy. Although these extra hours have increased people's cognizance at work, it is proved that it's not always an efficient approach. On the other hand, many individuals believe that extra hours at work are detrimental to one's physical and mental health. This is because this practice disturbs human's biological clock which results in health issues. For example, the Stanford University’s study in this issue proved that these health problems affect the basic DNA structure of people to produce a healthy offspring. Furthermore, this impacts the emotional intelligence of people. Though there is enough evidence that long working hours impact an employee's health, many organizations do not heed to these recommendations and continue with this practice. In summary, an individual's health takes precedent over long working hours. In my opinion, extra time at work carries a plethora of disadvantages.