Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more schoolwork. How do you think children should spend their free time?

People’s opinions differ on how children should spend their spare time with many today feel that kids are having too much free time that should be utilised for more schoolwork. In my view, children should be learning useful practical skills instead. Analysing the relevance of academic skills and the keys to success in the 21st century will prove this. Firstly, basic academic skills such as doing maths and coding will no longer be useful in the future. With current technological advancement, we are living in a world where computers can perform these techniques accurately and more quickly, making these skills obsolete. For example, primary school students can now complete maths homework by voice command to Alexa or Siri, and it is safer for banks use algorithms to manage finance than having staff calculating manually. Thus, doing more schoolwork is pointless to children. Children, however, need to learn necessary practical skills as early as possible. For example, parents can sign kids in community activities to foster communication skills through collaboration with other children, arts classes to nurture creativity, or sports club to maintain better physical and mental health. Future generations must have the ability to think critically and communicate effectively to succeed in adulthood while emphasis on academic attainment only has detrimental effect and reduces psychological resilience. Hence, spare time should not be wasted on schoolwork, but on practical activities. To conclude, I believe due to the developments of the 21st century, children should be learning skills other than the basic academic norms for their own development and well-being. I think there will be more opportunities available in the future for children to take part in.