The crime rate nowadays has decreased compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that the crime rate has been dropping thanks to the rapid development of technology. It does not only help to prevent crimes, but also help solving existing crimes. I completely agree with the view. To begin with, advanced technologies have been a big help in terms of preventing crimes from happening. With the wide application of technologies in all aspects of people’s lives, it has made very difficult for criminals to commit crimes. Often times, crimes are committed because of the lack of surveillance. Now, with smart alarm systems installed everywhere from cars, stores to households, it leaves criminals no chance to get away. Therefore, the crime rate has decreased significantly due to the advanced technologies. In addition, technologies make a great contribution to solving crimes as well. With the power of the internet, everything is under surveillance, which made very convenient for police to recognize and track down criminals. For example, technologies like surveillance cameras, face recognition AI technologies and GPS location tracking are great tools when tackling a crime. Furthermore, technology not only help solving crimes committed in recent years, it also helps crimes committed in the last century. For example, lots of unsolved crimes are investigated because of the invention of DNA testing and the largest criminal database. DNA matching is performed every time a new offender is registered into the system and sometimes these people are found to the criminals that committed crimes happened a long time ago. To conclude, advanced technologies have been in all parts of people’s lives and they are great helpers when it comes to preventing and solving crimes. Consequently, the crime rate decreases dramatically compared to the past.