Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Although unemployment has always existed, it has risen since the last decades, becoming a more relevant social issue, due to a massive people's movement from rural to urban areas, and the growth of technology that replace human skills. Government measures that aim to regulate access to the cities and the promotion of higher education might help mitigate the lack of employment opportunities. The most critical aspects that have boosted unemployment are the overpopulation in cities and technological progress, particularly the higher number of machines in factories. Firstly, the more inhabitants in the towns, the far more competitive it is to get a new job. Unfortunately, people believe there is a various job offer in great cities, but that has changed. According to an economic report of the World Bank, the unemployment rate in 2019 was three times higher than in 2018, and it was associated mainly with overpopulation in big cities. Secondly, it is well-known that the machines not only can perform human tasks, but also even much more efficiently than human beings. For that reason, some car companies such as Ford are producing cars almost totally made by robots. Consequently, dozens of employees lost their job, showing how technology can negatively affect workers. The most critical aspects that have boosted unemployment are the overpopulation in cities and technological progress, particularly the higher number of machines in factories. Firstly, the more inhabitants in the towns, the far more competitive it is to get a new job. Unfortunately, people believe there is a various job offer in great cities, but that has changed. According to an economic report of the World Bank, the unemployment rate in 2019 was three times higher than in 2018, and it was associated mainly with overpopulation in big cities. Secondly, it is well-known that the machines not only can perform human tasks, but also even much more efficiently than human beings. For that reason, some car companies such as Ford are producing cars almost totally made by robots. Consequently, hundreds of employees lost their job, showing how technology can negatively affect workers.