Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the past 30 years, there is a rising trend of buying cars which have ultimately resulted in the chocking of traffic and I fully agree with this fact. States have to curb this practice by improving the mass transit systems and imposing bans on the entry of vehicles during rush hours. In this era of science and technology, people prefer to own a motor car for their comfort. The increased per capita income and the increase in the variety of sedans have led to an enormous rise in the ownership. Moreover, the mortgage system has also made the process simple. All this has resulted in the busy roads and the jam-packed paths. For instance, most of the cities in the world like Paris and London get blocked during working hours. Thus, the progress of the motor industry has made the situation more grave. Governments have to address this issue by promoting public transportation mechanisms like subways, metro-trains, and busses. This will not only help in the commute of many individuals together, but will also reduce the burden on the oil industry due to decreased consumption. Furthermore, the nations have to impose strict laws on the purchase as well as on the use of private cars. For example, the city officials of the London city collect a huge amount of city tax, namely surge tax from all the vehicles entering during peak working hours. So, techniques have to be devised to solve this problem properly. To conclude, this is a global challenge and has to be tackled with great concern, as it has many adverse reactions associated with it. Thus, all of us have to join hands to help the leaders and follow the principles laid down by them in true letter and spirit.