It is common for people to travel long distances for work and study. Some argue that longer commute times negatively affect people while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, with the ever-growing population in cities, the shortage of houses in urban areas is inevitable. People have to live further away from metropolitans where they work to afford housing, which results in longer commutes to work. Therefore, the question of affordability also plays an increasingly large part, and so this debate is rather complex, as we shall see later on. Some may find the extra travel hours relatively insignificant as they can afford to live in rural areas in a lifestyle that most people can only dream of. For instance, it is understandable that most suburbs can offer spacious housing with massive gardens and even a glamorous house, which is unaffordable for most typical urban dwellers. Furthermore, life in a rural area comes with plenty of rewards which go beyond materialistic considerations. For instance, the abundance of natural resources such as land, wildlife, forestry and bodies of water, meaning the ability to breathe fresh air, hear birds singing or watch sunsets with ease. Not to mention the availability of fresh food and vegetables, and the environment uncontaminated by the pollution of sound and light, unlike in urban cities. With all these advantages, it would be justified to be willing to travel the lengthening commute time. By contrast, other people may hold the notion that those in the countryside living as longer commuters would be missing out on a considerable amount of activities compared to those urban dwellers, especially families with children. For example, it might be said that rural life is somewhat backwater, with fewer cultural amenities than with an urban area, in the form of museums, theatres and sports events for example. Moreover, more extended travelling to the office means that people have, the less free period offices to spend relaxing or with children, and feel more inclined to stay home on the weekends; social activities with friends would be significantly reduced, meaning they are more likely to feel isolated in the long run. In conclusion, whether the longer commuting time is problematic depends on the lifestyle people decide to have. I preferred shorter commuting times when I was young and longer commuting times when I was slightly older so I could live the lifestyle I wanted. I hope that in the future, more houses are constructed in city residential areas so that housing becomes less expensive, and therefore people can subsequently make free choices for how far they have to travel to work.