Many parents, mostly mothers, stay at home to take care of the house and look after children. Many believe that the government should pay them a wage for this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A large number of parents, especially mothers, choose to stay at home and dedicate themselves to the upbringing of their children. Some people argue that they should receive payment from the government for being stay-at- home parents. I totally disagree with this notion, because I think it would be unfair for those people who do not have families and have to work. It is true that parenting is important and those who in need have to receive financial aid from local authorities. However, being a parent and staying at home with children is a personal choice and nobody should be paid a salary just because of the fact that they have chosen to be stay-at- home parents. Firstly, every working citizen pays taxes and expect that the government will treat them equally with the rest of the people. For instance, if I would decide to stay at home and nurture myself in order to improve my physical shape or other abilities, no one agreed to pay me a wage. Thus, from my point of view, it is not appropriate to pay a salary for staying at home, whatever reason it is. Secondly, there are some people, especially from low-income groups without tertiary education, who would prefer to give birth to a child rather than work. As well as this, some of them might spend money on luxurious things instead of proper upbringing. To illustrate, recently there was a case that parents using financial aid from our country have bought unreasonably high-priced smartphones for themselves. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea of paying wages for being a housekeeper. From my perspective, the government should allocate financial help only to those people who are not able to raise their children by themselves, along with a stringent control of their spending.