Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

In the last two decades the zoos numbers have increased tremendously due to the public demand. Thus, there are over 450 zoos in Britain alone and around 10,000 all over the world. This has sparked a heated debate whether if they are important in our lives or not. This essay will discuss the advantages of zoos in our society and why I advocate the existence of them, using examples from PETA Foundation and SPCA organization. To begin with, zoos are a great educational entity that can educate people about the nature and the habitat of the animals, besides the importance of the biodiversity of the different creatures that can balance the ecosystem on earth. PETA Foundation (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) announced that despite the indisputable downwards of zoos, yet 80 percent of children have gained enough knowledge and awareness about animals that would not have been gained without such facilities. Seen in this light, it is conclusively clear that there are educational advantages linked to the existence of zoos. Secondly, Due to poaching more than 230 species became on the verge of extinction. Thanks to zoos because they have kept the endangered and scarce species safely sustaining them with a good care. In addition, a rehabilitation programs are provided to animals in order to release them to their natural habitat again to breed and flourish. The SPCA Organization (Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) has conducted a research on the role of zoos in saving animals, which concluded that 110 endangered animals are likely to be removed from the list within 3 years due to the zoo's efforts. In conclusion, taking the cited aforementioned arguments and examples into consideration, it is undoubtedly clear that zoos and menagerie exist for a noble purpose saving the ecosystem and species and their importance can sidestep the minor disadvantages of them.