Success is always measured by wealth and material belongings. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successful person?

It is often believed that wealth and other materialistic possessions own by people are the best ways of measuring success. However, I believe that financial stability is not the key criteria to measure an individual’s achievement. A perfect blend of happiness and health should be considered as a successful life. Every individual has his own way of feeling content. Although affluent people can purchase expensive products such as luxury cars, mansions, and branded clothes, these items do not ensure family bonding. For instance, having meals together, sharing thoughts, and playing with siblings ensures a strong family bond. The pursuit of wealth will not only reduce leisure time a person has but also develops stress and anxiety. Nowadays, people who possess expensive products are stressed as they are constantly striving hard to maintain their status in society. Hence, they end up working hard day and night, neglecting loved ones as well as their health. Moreover, there is no guarantee that such individuals can perform better and earn money through immense hard work and still there will be contentment. For example, a scientific report has proven that 8 percent of the billionaires are vulnerable to mental illness, namely depression and anxiety because they are indulging in work and do not give enough time to their families and loved ones. Therefore, success should not be perceived through mere materialistic things and money because people can be rich, but not always happy as well as healthy in their life. Several factors contribute in making a person successful. Firstly, a loving and supporting family always motivates an individual to focus on his goals and give him a feeling of completeness. Secondly, people should opt for a career of their interests so that they do not feel dissatisfied and frustrated in their job. Furthermore, even if there is a lot of material prosperity, lack of job satisfaction results in mental stress and impacts the health of an individual. Finally, these factors compound to sound health which is an ideal combination attaining a work-life balance. Such people are happier than the rich individuals who have money to buy expensive products, but not well -being or peace of mind. In conclusion, money and expensive possessions cannot be the best measure of success because a person is successful only if he leads content as well as healthy life.