In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In many countries, more and more people prefer to have unhealthy meals which results in various other severe health issues. This is because fast foods are readily available and is affordable by most people. Some individuals believe that if the government increases tax on this kind of cuisine, people might refrain from buying snacks. I completely agree with this opinion and will support my viewpoint with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, in this fast paced life, people hardly are able to find time to have proper meals and with the increased number of fast meal outlets individuals resort to buying not so healthy meals because they are delievered faster and tastes better due to added flavours, chemicals and preservatives, which can be detrimental to well-being in the long run. For instance, office workers would mostly choose to have a burger than a proper meal during lunch time because of time constraints and the cost of the foodstuff. However, on the other hand, people do not consider the impact of fast foods on their well-being. Many people who consume unhealthy foodstuff regularly are prone to several ailments such as cholesterol, diabetes, overweight etc. It is imperative that the authorities must take required actions such as imposing a higher tax on fast foods so that more and more people will resort to buying proper food. For example, In India they increased a 5% tax on KFC and McDonalds after which there was a small decline in their profits. Also, every government must strive to protect their people, as it always important to have a healthy and strong population. Hence it should promote more campaigns regarding fitness and well-being also helping people understand the negative effects of consuming junk food. In conclusion, although junk snack may be tasty it is never better than the home cooked healthy meals. It is always better to be health conscious and limit having food from outside.