With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend ?

Use of Digital books is ubiquitous these days. While some believe this is a good trend, others disagree. There are some merits like having a digital library on the go and much cheaper than their print counterparts, it also carries some demerits like decline in print media related jobs and Steep learning curve for non-technical people. This essay will discuss views from both sides in detail.   The prime advantage is the ability to carry multiple books in a small handheld device. With further technological improvements in battery life and storage capacity, the devices are becoming better and better. For instance, is not necessary for anyone to think about choosing one or two books while travelling, instead they can take their entire collection. The other merit is related to the cost of the electronic copies of the books. They are much cheaper when compared to their physical book counterparts because of the minimal materials and labour costs involved.   The major disadvantage is the loss of jobs associated with the print media. It ranges from the jobs in logging industry for paper manufacturing in the transportation industry for delivering the copies to bookstores. For instance, A recent research suggests there is a loss of around 5 million jobs in no fewer than 50 industries due to digitization of the media. One other demerit is the steep learning curve for the people with less computer knowledge. Getting physical books can be as simple as visiting the store, e-books on the other hand, involves visiting a website, using a card to download the copy and upload them to a handheld device. This can be intimidating to some people. For instance, my grandfather still reads from physical books due to the hassle involved in these steps.   To recapitulate, although there are pros associated with the digitization of books like carrying lots of books on hand, which are cheaper, it also comes with cons including bigger learning curve and loss of jobs.