Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Travelling to a foreign land for work, study and pleasure are ubiquitous these days. It is easy to end up needing to speak a foreign language during these trips.Many people argue that this can cause social and practical difficulties. Due to reasons like inability to adapt to new cultures and difficulty to express using a different language, I completely agree with this argument and in this essay, I will explain the reasons in detail. Firstly, As a foreigner, It will be difficult to mingle with the local community. This is mainly due to the cultural differences. For instance, research shows that the school children who relocates to a school in a foreign land experience high level of cultural shock. Alternatively, they mingle easily with the expat communities in the same foreign country. As a result, the adaptability to the new place is often very difficult and hard. Secondly, It is also difficult to express freely and clearly using a different language. This usually happens because of the lack of command in the new one. A recently published paper on the language analysis, suggests that people express more clearly and precisely using their mother tongue. As a result, people feel left out of the social and personal settings To recapitulate, due the reasons such as difficulty to adapt to the foreign culture and the inability to express properly in a new language, I wholeheartedly agree with those who believe that living in a different country and speaking a different tongue can cause serious social and practical issues.