Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is an undeniable fact that everyone wants to earn their living. However, some believe that earning a diploma from a school is the best way to land in a good job, I agree with those who argue that getting experience is the gateway to a better stint. Firstly, those who believe that getting degree is the best way, may argue that it provides a good benchmark for the employers to assess the employees' skills while hiring. This is because, it is difficult to judge someone's skills directly without assessment and university education provides it. Employers conducting the career fairs and hiring the students fresh out of schools are a prime example. The argument goes that the education can provide the necessary tools for the employers to trust the employees and hence, they have a high chance of becoming their worker. However, I believe the know-how helps the person become better skilled, as professional training provides the experience that academia cannot match. This is the reason why the schools invite the companies to offer internships to the students. Research shows that the majority of the business school students believe that internships add more value to their resume more than taking additional courses. As a result, companies can favour workers who are battle tested than the ones who are newbies. In other terms experienced candidates can get an edge over the new university pass outs.   To recapitulate, although many favours the degrees to land on a good gig, I side with people who believe that experience can help you get a satisfying one.