University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is vital for everyone and these days people are choosing to study abroad. Studying is important so students want to explore the opportunities and education system abroad. Meanwhile, students tend to struggle in a foreign land, unable to adapt to their culture and language. In my opinion, scholars preferring to study abroad is a better option despite the challenges that could bring in, such as cultural difference. The education system in a non-native country provides a variety of courses which is not available in one’s country, also this exploration of courses give them both personal growth and professional experience. Studying in another country helps them to come out their shell, meet people, learn and grow, which in turn helps them to have a successful career. For example, when I first moved to Korea for my Master’s degree it was a thrilling experience where I had to study and work in order to manage my expenses. I learnt to be independent, adapted to the situations and weather changes. Therefore, these different life experiences are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas because they helped me to grow and get a better job. The main drawbacks that makes studying in foreign land difficult is adapting to their cultural and linguistic differences. There are a few problems such as communicating with a native trying to understand and replying them. For instance, I got quite embarrassed for mispronouncing a word while asking for directions so the person became silent and the situation became awkward at the end. In summary, the disadvantage is, communicating with the natives can be difficult when pursuing degrees in other countries. Studying abroad has become more popular among this generation of scholars and graduates. Although, there is a cultural barriers it is effective, for students to explore and grow as a person and a professional. As a contradiction of sorts, it’s a phenomenal exposure that gives them knowledge to develop and become successful by studying in abroad is more beneficial than drawbacks.