In some countries, celebrities can now earn more than senior politicians. what might be the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, in many nations, famous people have higher salaries than people in upper political positions. In this essay, I will explain why this happens and why I believe it is negative to our society. The main reason why celebrities can now earn more is that they can demand how much they want to be paid depending on their experience and popularity. Politician salaries, meanwhile, are fixed. For example, the president’s wage is not changed because of his experience, age, or skills. Meanwhile, Brad Pitt, who is a worldwide famous actor will definitely be paid more than a new young actor that no one knows. Another reason is that audiences get entertained by watching celebrities on TV rather than hearing political news. Consequently, famous people’s jobs are significantly demanded and well paid. To illustrate, there is only need one governor by province while the demand for actors, actresses, and singers is dramatically higher. This development is, in my opinion, negative because salaries are an incentive to work better. If senior politicians have lower wages they will probably find their jobs frustrating. For instance, if the governor of Santa Fe earns less money than an actress or singer, he will probably feel disappointed and will not do his tasks properly. Another disadvantage is that fewer young people will choose a career in politics. Therefore, there will be an excess of youth studying performing arts such as acting and music universities. In conclusion, celebrities can now earn more than senior politicians because they can demand any salary they want and also because audiences are increasingly asking for more entertaining. I think this is mainly a drawback to our society as it diminishes the motivation to work for the government and worsens how these jobs are fulfilled.