Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

These days, many old people are competing with youngsters for similar work positions. It causes increased unemployment and reduces organisational overall efficiency due to a lack of a less experienced workforce. But this problem can be solved by providing certain job reservations and training to elderly employees. First of all, many companies prefer to hire young people over older people, because they are willing to work at lower salaries and are more familiar with the new technology than their older counterparts. For example, in India, many aged individuals are facing challenges in finding jobs after being replaced by young applicants. Moreover, this also leads to workplace tension, as young employee easily adapts to technology than older employees, and this generational gap leads to low productivity and efficiency. To tackle such job -related problems, the government and communities can take several measures. Like, the government can set a certain number of job positions reserved for old people. So, they will not struggle to find a job. Additionally, organisations should provide retraining programmes, particularly designed for older people, to help them adapt to new technology and the work environment. For example, a digital literacy course helps them to learn about new technological advancements. In conclusion, increasing competition among young and old people for the same job is increasing the unemployment rate among senior workers and reducing work productivity. But it can be solved, if authorities and employers take suitable actions, like reserving job positions for older individuals and offering training courses at the organisational level.